RSS

Making things I have in my mind.

20 Apr

The annoying part of being a writer is to get people convinced that they really haven’t lived their lives properly unless they’ve read your book.

It’s in a way even harder if you’re being creative. For childrens’ books, for instance.
I’m someone to come up with a story. I can’t draw. Not for real. Not the kind of strokes on a paper that makes people well up. Well, from boredom maybe, but that’s about it.

I’m a bit weird though, if I can’t make it work the way I have in my mind, I start thinking what I CAN work with in order to make it -even if only slightly- resemble what I had in mind.
That way I once made a toy for children. A prototype of sorts. It’s not for children to play with, this prototype, as I had to make it work the way I could shape it in order to look like I wanted it to look. Does that make sense to anyone? I bought a yoga block and a yoga mat in order to fullfill my desperate need to make something I wanted to be carved from wood. You know those boxes which has shapes with a circel, block, triangle and rectangle? The kind of blocks that are learning children all over the world how to make things fit in holes? I have made one of those for the lovers of shoes. In different sizes and shapes. Cut out of yoga block and yoga mat. I figured it was a way of getting what I had in mind at least in some sort of shape so it would exist. And not just in my head.

For my other project, a peekaboo book for kids, I tried first to draw it on paper. I think I’ve never been more depressed after seeing my own work that way. So, when visiting HEMA the other day and finding they had rolls of felt in different colors, I thought: why not?

So I dug up my old sketches so at least I knew how to cut and paste, went to the store for glue (after I asked on twitter if anybody knew how to make felt attach to felt) and also bought eyes.
They happened to have them in that store.
I didn’t even think of that yet, but when the cassiere happened to mention:
‘Hold on, let me get rid of this eye first, or it’ll stick on my finger forever’, I indeed noticed the small, white, goggly eye on her finger, next to the pencil she also happened to be holding. She took a plastic tube and put the eye in there. I was a bit stunned. I took the tube, gazed at the very odd and curious looking gathering inside it. All looking at me with that expression: ‘How you doin’?’
I thought: ‘I’m shit at drawing eyes aswell, maybe I should by those too’. So I did.
I now have my first felt-book for children.
All the characters in it look massive stoned (I bought eyes with eyelashes and this is a bit trickier with pasting them, it turns out) but….I have a book!
Now all I need is to embroid it with my texts. Or at least come up with a solution of how to do that.

Mind you, things hardly ever go in the way normal people solve them if I do it. But it’s still good fun, don’t worry.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 20, 2015 in Projects, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
