RSS

Acupuncture

29 Aug

Because I know experiences with this specific type of treatment are very personal, I will only write down what my thoughts are of mine.

I’m not a great believer in alternative medical treatments. Yes, that matters greatly for this kind of treatment. I’ve done my training of Pharmaceutical’s Assistant well enough to know that for a treatment to work, the patient at least needs some sort of believe that it’s working. It doesn’t do all, but it’s a good start.

Acupuncture means you tell your problem to the therapist, who then makes your file. I’m not sure it’s the same for everyone, so to bare a bit of my treatment: I had to show my tongue, the therapist would draw it on a paper, asked me how my stool was, and after a brief moment of evaluating how my week had been going (she gave me herbal pills to take, for instance), I would lie down on the bed without my socks and she would take my pulse. Then started to put needles in me.

That’s the other thing: you have to be able to handle needles. It doesn’t actually hurt, but they’re there and you will feel it!

I did like my therapist a great deal, so I probably went on with it longer then I should have, but I didn’t feel anything. I recall a moment where needles were put in me, then my pulse was felt and I heard her say: ‘oh great! There it is, I didn’t feel your *** but there it is!’ No, I can’t remember what name she said there, but it doesn’t matter.
Didn’t the herbs help me then? I did feel a little different, but so does a diet at times. I could never truly say if it was because of the pills or anything else.

My problem wasn’t solved by it, so at some point I decided: she is a very nice lady, but this treatment just isn’t for me. Those pills were too expensive to keep it going for something I didn’t feel different about.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 29, 2015 in Opinion

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Acupuncture

  1. BunKaryudo

    August 29, 2015 at 1:55 pm

    I know some people swear by acupuncture, but I never fancied looking like a pin cushion myself.

     

Leave a Reply

 
