RSS

Unemployed

04 Apr

While at the park, I got to talk to someone. This happens more often, though usually not to me. I’m not a smooth talker at first. My remarks are usually met with laughter and ended with ‘well, bye’, meaning ‘have a nice life’.
As it’s the park.
You never know if you might meet someone again. Usually this doesn’t matter.
Same this morning. I got to talk to a woman who happened to do the same work I used to do: child care. I told her how it was still my biggest regret never having done anything else than earning that specific degree. Now that Care companies are going broke everywhere, this doesn’t give you much of a career oppertunity. I do have more interests, but companies don’t care about this if they see your resumé is filled with child care. A resumé is a tricky thing. It tells things and it leaves out a whole lot of other things.
I told her I was applying for jobs where ever, but usually employers want commitment. The kind that’s worse than getting married.
Even worse is: you don’t get paid until you’ve proved your worth. Example of this is the numerous counts of intern vacancies all of the sudden. It is, quite frankly, a new type of slavery. There is no job guarantee being giving, just the promise you will learn a lot. I do hope one of those things is: ‘tell people to f*** off if they don’t plan to pay you to your level of capabilities’. Because degree or not, people CAN BE GOOD WITHOUT THAT.

I am quite worthless for such employers by the way. I like a lot of things. For instance: I’ve worked with babies and this was a great joy for me, but since I left that job -note to self: DON’T get into a fight with your manager who likes to abuse her powers!- I’ve published about six books, (three of them in a different language than my own. One of them for children, one of them being science fiction and one of them containing columns of sorts. Even whilst writing, I can’t choose for one particular direction, is what I’m saying), I’ve been making jewellery from FIMO clay, I’ve been trying to find a way to make Barbarella clothes, I’ve modelled for commercials, I’ve been working at a callcenter and these were all things I got thrown at me because they really couldn’t find anyone else to do it.

I’m not utterly useless. I don’t receive money not being employed, but somehow not being 18 is really a major hiccup for companies. Though they don’t admit it. It’s always ‘we’ve met with other, more suitable applicants’, but unfortunately; I’m not that stupid. I know most jobs that are set out, will have loads of people responding. A friend of mine told me employers aswell as recruiters don’t even read letters of motivation. Software does it for them. There should be certain words mentioned in it, or you don’t get so much as a response.

I have seen several job descriptions that were so specifically written, that it made me woonder if they’d had the ideal candidate passing by and were stupid enough to let him/her go at that moment? Companies are stupid enough to do just that, especially when the time to pay comes around.
I have been trying to convert my knowledge into something new. I like writing, I thought maybe I could be the pride and joy of some magazine to write a column. Hahaha. Yes, I’ll insert the laughter here myself. Journalists hardly even get paid and they write bollocks. I’m on twitter and I see what kind of articles are being written. ‘Ten life hacks for eggs’, ‘Three other things to do with beans’, ’10 Celebrities you wouldn’t recognise from these photos’, ‘man with three arseholes’, and so on.
These are articles that are being published by serious papers. They need the clickbait.

I have heard that supposedly networking would be good. I don’t believe this. It’s good for the feeling of being socially engaged, but for actually getting a job, the influences are minor. I’ve only seen about three or four people in the last few years who enthusiastically stated they had gotten a job because of social media. In my opinion, that’s hardly effective.
Let me put it this way: there is the site of LinkedIn to do this connecting for you. There’s also Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Tumblr, Instagram, etc. If LinkedIn would function the way Facebook and the others do, then employment agencies and recruiters could shut their businesses because they wouldn’t be needed anymore.

Welcome to robotworld, *sighs and rolls eyes* ENTER

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 4, 2016 in Opinion, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
