RSS

Learning Online: Codeacademy

07 Aug

So, I had an idea for a game. Given that I’m not really into games, my idea was/is really quite simple. It’s based on an already existing game, though quite different. Otherwise it would be just a copy, no?
Anyway, with a background in Childcare, I did think: I will never be able to make it myself. Problem 1: I don’t have a lot of money to go to a big expensive school. The schools that I’ve been through for my previous education were all in care…note to self: don’t do that. If you’re going to get educated, make sure you, every now and then, step outside your comfortzone.
For now, that won’t help.
On a party, I met someone who told me: ‘you should go to codeacademy.com! You can learn all kinds of skills, programmingwise, and it’s really quite easy!’.
So, I tried. I tried Python, Ruby and several others. No such luck though.
Not only is everything in English -which is usually not a problem for me, but it apparently is when it comes to learning a new technical skill- but the program regularly gets stuck or isn’t all that clear.

Most teachers like to make a joke, to smoothen the learning progress. The programs on codeacademy seem to be designed to even recreate that little feature. Which means questions that are being asked, can be very literally and serious, but also just a joke. I’ve noticed I had to rethink everything twice and I sometimes simply didn’t get what was being asked. Python especially has this problem, being based on the jolly funny fellas of Monty Python’s Flying Circus.

So, my advice would be to ask someone in the business to guide you after all, since it’s very frustrating if you find yourself lost. Codeacademy does provide you with a large forum of possible answers, but I noticed there too that different entries give the same ‘good to go’ solution. And it’s different for everybody. Odd, eh?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 7, 2016 in Opinion, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
